RSS

Socialite’s Liver In Nut Sauce

09 Jul

Many people are repelled by the flavor of liver, which is a shame, as it is one of the most nutritious meats you can eat. Mrs. Tyrannocaster doesn’t like it much, while I am a well wisher in the style of The Simpsons – I don’t wish it any specific harm. But Mrs. T has found a recipe that is tolerable even for her, and I actually like it:

Socialite’s Liver In Nut Sauce

I don’t have any photos of the dish (cooked liver always looks gray when I photograph it no matter what I do; I’m really a lousy food photographer) but here’s an image of a perfect organ donor in its prime:

Donor2
Can’t read the text? Mrs. Harry B. Mathews, the former Agnès de Saint-Phalle of Paris and New York society. Discriminating in her choice of cigarettes, Mrs. Mathews says: “I like the cork tip and better taste of Herbert Tareyton.”

Socialite’s Liver In Nut Sauce/Fígado
(If you can’t find a socialite you could use beef or calf’s liver instead, but debutante’s liver is even more delicious, though somewhat harder to acquire.)

Ingredients
1 pound socialite’s liver
3 tablespoons oil (we use tallow, lard, coconut, whatever is handy)
3/4 cup chopped onions
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 cup ground walnuts, pecans or almonds
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 teaspoon grated lemon rind (DO NOT SKIP)
1/2 cup chicken broth

Rinse the liver, cut in narrow strips, and dry on paper towels.

Heat the oil in a skillet, sauté the onions and garlic 10 minutes. Add the liver; sauté until no pink remains. Mix in the nuts, salt, pepper, lemon rind, and broth; cook over low heat 5 minutes, stirring frequently. Serves 4


This dish is very good, and it makes it a lot easier to get into organ meat. It’s also pretty easy to fix, which is a plus, and the lemon rind adds a nice element; it’s one of those things that, once you taste it, makes you realize that you’ve been missing it all along. I will have more to say later about the socialites that Herbert Tareyton was sucking up to in the Fifties, but for now,

Stay young and monstrous.

RA-Morph_AVATAR

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 9, 2014 in Corporations, People Food

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Socialite’s Liver In Nut Sauce

  1. Kenny

    July 10, 2014 at 2:45 pm

    Liver – it’s what’s for dinner – tonight! I’m not repulsed by liver at all. I’ve recently found that eating liver 1-2 days a week gives me great energy, so much so, that I can tell when I need to eat it again!

    I just cook my calf liver in a big pan of melted butter so it won’t stick, then usually eat it with about 1/4 stick of butter. Good stuff.

     
  2. tyrannocaster

    July 10, 2014 at 5:07 pm

    You might try this recipe just for a change of pace. While the article has a snarky slant, the recipe is very good with beef liver. I get tired of seeing recipes for liver with bacon and onions; this one is a bit different and I like the effect of the added ground nuts and lemon. In fact, *I’m* having this for dinner tonight too, as it happens. So we’re currently brothers in liver arms.

     
  3. Kenny

    July 10, 2014 at 6:10 pm

    It does sound good, so I got to find me a deb to donate an organ for me. 🙂

    I may have to try it, but it runs up against one of my deep traits: I’m incredibly lazy – in general – and especially about cleaning up. I hate cleaning up after cooking.

    However, I’ve correlated the stronger aversion to doing the dishes to days I’ve eaten more carbs and “wrong” foods that lower my energy and mood. Like now, after eating my liver and butter, with a few leftover fries and some sea salt, I feel like I could wash up without hating it that much.

    And I just watched U2’s Rattle and Hum again, so I feel good from that too.

    Anyway, on the subject of food and low carb, you might enjoy this clip I pulled out of an old show:

    PS: almost forgot, I tried to subscribe to your blog’s RSS feed so I could get all those cool images delivered to me automatically with each of your new posts, but I got an error, and was unable to subscribe. Weird, since I would have thought WordPress blogs would automatically set up RSS feeds correctly.

     
    • tyrannocaster

      July 10, 2014 at 6:45 pm

      Ha, I was posting on your blog while you were posting on mine, LOL. Sorry about the RSS feed thing, but honestly, I have no idea how to set that up differently – I just used the defaults and assumed they would work. You’re right, you’d think that WordPress would have that working right, out of the box. We’re not talking about the Follow button, are we – I know that works. I’ve poked around my Sharing settings but I don’t see what I’d need to change. I never use RSS so it’s unknown territory to me. 😦 [I just emailed somebody who is a lot more knowledgeable about this stuff than I am; fingers crossed.]

      On that liver – my recipe doesn’t leave any more dirty dishes than yours does, unless you count the cutting board as a “dish”. There’s only one pan in either one.

       
      • Kenny

        July 10, 2014 at 7:10 pm

        I’m thinking that nothing you’ve done would impact the validity of the RSS feed. I have a lot of software experience of all kinds, but not any specific expertise with RSS feeds. My guess would be that your WordPress theme is probably the culprit, but I don’t know enough to be sure.

        Anyway, no big deal.

        If you supply the debutante, I’d be happy to cook your dish, and clean up after. 😉

         

Leave a Reply

 
